Love On the Streets

A Missed Opportunity

For the past few Sundays, Love on the Streets has celebrated varied people, lauding their acts of love as they went through their daily routines. Today I want to commend a new set of people, I believe this would encourage them the next time they feel probed by the Holy Spirit to show love.
Not everyone allows themselves to be used by the Holy Spirit and those who often avail their beings sometimes have pitfalls- I am a living example of this. My post today is inspired by a missed opportunity to demonstrate love.

A few weeks back as I rushed home from work, tired and in need of the comfort of home, I turned a blind eye. As part of the final lap of my journey, I sat at the front of a rickety taxi that was to take me home. A few minutes later a gentleman joined and after I responded to his muttered greeting, we sat in silence and continued to wait.

Shortly after, an elderly lady joined making her the third person to join, it was mandatory that she sat in the middle so the last passenger could join. At this point I felt a nudge in my spirit to vacate my seat at the front so this woman could comfortably come and sit. As stubborn as I could be, I shrugged off the feeling and convinced myself that I rightly deserved the seat since I was the first to board the taxi. Besides, sitting at the back wasn’t enjoyable in the least.

Sighing loudly, I turned my head away from looking on as the lady struggled to get on board. Finally the old, shaky vehicle was filled to capacity and began to move. The Holy Spirit ministered this;

You write and touch the lives of many about showing love on the street but you just missed an opportunity to put your words into action. What is faith if it is without works?

Like me, I know there are many out there who have countlessly lost the opportunity to show love. Don’t be downhearted, today love on the streets celebrates you. Along with this celebration comes a gentle coax to please heed to the promptings and voice of the Holy Spirit, you are the light, so be light and shine forth.

When the opportunity presents itself lend a hand and give our Lord the opportunity to smile down at you. It isn’t only the huge acts of service that please the Lord. He is pleased when we show love because we are one body in Christ bound by His love.

God bless you.

xoxo

3 thoughts on “A Missed Opportunity

  1. Your style is very unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.

    I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark
    this web site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

