light writing · Religion-Christianity

When I Say I Love You….

I don’t know how many of us can confidently tell people who are not our friends or remotely related to us that we love them. I am not talking of the new phrase that makes no use of the possessive noun ie. love you. I am talking of ‘I love you.’

Christ told us love is the greatest yet it has become the most difficult phrase to say to a neighbour. We feel odd when we type it to a friend just to encourage them. We would rather hide behind Jesus loves you than to say I love you.

When I say I love you, it doesn’t mean I am trying to buy my way into having an emotional, intimate relationship with you.

When I say I love you, I am not trying to be cheap or corny.

When I say I love, I want you to understand that I have been directed and instructed by God to love you as myself.

When I say I love you I want you to know and understand that we are one body in Christ bound by love.

When I say I love you I am willing to put to practice all the characteristics 1 Corinth 13 lays out. I might falter along the way, but I won’t use failure as an excuse to prevent me from rising up to continue loving you.

When I say I love you I want you to understand that Jesus loves you more and I am just being His ambassador.

Let Love lead. It isn’t always love is reciprocated, but don’t worry because you have loved anyway and obeyed the master’s instruction.

So to all my readers, I really do love you.

xoxo

God bless you.

4 thoughts on “When I Say I Love You….

Leave a Reply

