Checking In... · light writing · Religion-Christianity

Tickle My Ears Please

Do you know what irks me lately?

I can’t seem to stand it and I get very uncomfortable when its being done in my presence- interesting thing is, I also do it. I am actually a very active member of the ‘privileged many’. 

I remember I used to harshly chastise people for doing this- obviously in my head, because I could not bring myself to telling them in their face that I felt they were wrong. Each time I fell short, the Holy Spirit prompted me and told me to remove the log from my very own eyes before proceeding to remove the speck from another’s eye. For a long time, I have been having an urge to put this entry up- and I have had a struggle in deciding what form to present it in. Whether in a short story or a coherent post like this-evidently I settled for the latter.

It seems we have all treated this as a small case. We see it as unimportant as telling ‘small’ lies or white lies. The truth, sadly, is that many people may actually not make it to heaven because of this seemingly simple activity. I know, by now, you are wondering what I am rambling about. 

1 Corinth 6:9-10

9 Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals,[a] nor sodomites, 10 nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners will inherit the kingdom of God.

Its stated clearly up there, revilers(gossips) shall not inherit the kingdom of God.

Each one of us has fallen prey to this in one way or the other. We have spoken wrongly and/or badly about a course mate, church leader, friend, enemy , supervisor or colleague behind their backs. Sometimes not intentionally, because in truth those people actually have bad habits that need to be dealt with. My question to us though is this, how do we expect them to deal with their habits when we commune with other people excluding the accused  and discuss their unpleasant behaviours in depth, at times spicing the juicy information with lies?

Yes!-something as small and negligable as this can prevent you from making it to Heaven! I want to admonish us, including myself, Jesus would soon return and He isn’t one to mince words. The Bible clearly states that gossips shall not inherit the kingdom of God.

Stop tickling your ears with the feathers of gossip.

A word to me, you and us.

You are blessed

Read, share, like,comment

New series begins God willing tomorrow

5 thoughts on “Tickle My Ears Please

Leave a Reply

