Checking In... · light writing · Random Thoughts

Deception (1)

My first impression after seeing this gentleman was that he was a Moslem-interestingly I didn’t have the mind to ‘preach’ him. It never even crossed my mind to share any word with him-not at all.
Well,this gentleman ended up sitting right behind me and I tried not to be irritated by that. I covered my face,leaned back in my chair and began to sleep. (A fight broke up somewhere in the terminal but that’s a story for another day-i am trying to promise to tell you later).
As per tradition in the particular vehicle I had boarded home, the journey began with a male preacher blabbering away. I honestly didn’t hear anything he said-not because I wasn’t listening…I promise.
So our dear preacher finished 15 minutes later and alighted along the way. I began thinking I could have some sound sleep, but then the TV in the vehicle came on and was blaring some music-sigh- I would have done anything for just 10 minutes of silence on that bus so I could sleep. I pulled my jacket from my face and looked ahead. My ‘Moslem’ gentleman was speaking to one of the driver’s assistants. Immediately he was done, the assistant brought the volume of the TV set low. The ‘Moslem’ gentleman walked up to the middle of the aisle and pleaded that we shut our eyes so he says a word of prayer.
Now that pricked my attention and got me fully awake. I shut my eyes though, expecting to hear an Allah or Mohammed somewhere in the prayer but to my amazement he prayed in a local dialect and to God in Jesus’ name!!! He mentioned the fact that Christ should cleanse us of all our sins and all. Couldn’t help smiling and turning around to be sure it was the same gentleman I had more or less classified as a Moslem. He began to preach about Heaven and Hell and our purpose on earth.
The Holy Spirit reminded me of how Samuel went to anoint David to be King. Upon seeing Jesse’s older son, Samuel presumed that Eliab would most definitely be King and that was when I desperately ransacked my bag to get a surface to write on.
Coincidentally,or not, i read the same Passage the Holy Spirit referred to just yesterday.
1 Samuel 16:7
But the Lord said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the Lord seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart.

Do be careful of how quickly you jump to a conclusion just because of someone’s outward appearance.

Love you
Stay blessed.

Leave a Reply

