Random Thoughts · Religion-Christianity

Workaholic Issues!

I have never liked the idea of taking shortcuts in queues because I get irritated when people do it and I am apart of the queue. By the wonderful grace of God we have been blessed with many privileges-my family and I. Yet my mum and I still have and hold on to our firm belief of not cutting queues even if we know the C.E.O of whichever company we are in. We prefer to work our way through the queue- feel free to call us workaholics.

My dad works for a reputable company. One day, my mum and I decided to visit that company and quietly joined the waiting queue. Minutes to us being served my dad appeared and wasn’t enthused that we had joined the queue.
He had told us countless times to go straight to one of the heads and sort out whatever we came to do there. He grabbed our documents and within 5 minutes or less we were done and out.

This morning while praying, I remembered the above incident which occurred a few years ago. The Holy Spirit made me realize I carried and worked with that same mentality everywhere even when fellowshiping with Him. The mentality of a workaholic. I loved to work and wanted to work my way through and for everything.

He made me realize that it was this mentality that made me disregard His Grace in my life because I thought(partially, secretly and unconsciously) that I had to work to prove I deserved something from Him. His Grace never functions in that way and never will.

Grace is undeserved, unmerited favour which we need not, ought not, must not and shall not work for.

Romans 11:6
And if by grace, then is it no more of works: otherwise grace is no more grace. But if it be of works, then is it no more grace: otherwise work is no more work.

Romans 3:24
Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus:

Allow the grace of God to work in your life and stop working for grace-it’s of no use.
Always remember His grace is sufficient for you.

2 Corinthians 12:9
And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

17 thoughts on “Workaholic Issues!

  1. Korshie booboo!!! I’m glad I inspired you to write such a lovely piece. Don’t worry, when you are coming to my firm you can relax in the queue. I’m still waiting for my jollof 😘😘😘😘

    Like

  2. That’s my Prisciii!!! Great piece dear. I can so relate. I disregard the grace in my life more times than I care to count. And funny enough sometimes even when I acknowledge His grace I still hang on to my own efforts. I might say “I passed that paper by God’s grace” or “I was able to do this by God’s grace”, I say that with my lips but in my heart I still think about the effort and work I myself put into it and I turn God’s grace into lip service. But then I begin to find it difficult to say “this and that will be okay by God’s grace” when I know I didn’t put in the best effort. I allow fear to overshadow my faith in God’s grace. But I’m glad there are people like you to encourage me and remind me why God’s grace is always sufficient. Unmerited favour indeed. God bless you dear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

