Music

My Proud Humility I call Service!

Humble yourselves therefore under God’s mighty hand that He may lift you up in due time.
1 Peter 5:6 (NIV)

I am standing in front of the microphone on the stage, along with my other choir members and ‘frontliners’, facing my church members singing loud and raising my hands to the ceiling. The lyrics of the song are powerful but my mind dwells on how dulcet my voice must be sounding in the microphone. I hope I can be heard loud and clear, better than all the other voices. I hope someone gets into the spirit and falls as I raise up my hands to the ceiling and smile and jump and speak a couple of hot tongues into the microphone, intertwining it with my melodious voice.
I am getting frustrated! No one in the congregation seems moved! Such proud folks! They can’t even stand on their feet for their maker! Can they not hear the lyrics of the song we are ministering?!

Finally we finish the song beautifully. I hit the note right and tight and walk majestically off the podium to take my seat. As soon as I take my seat, the Holy Spirit whispers so softly into my ear, ‘was that really for me or for yourself?’

How many times as minstrels have we forgotten our true purpose. To preach through music. How many times as minstrels have we taken up a stage to show off our voices. Deep down we know the words are supposed to sink in-we behave as if they are actually sinking into our spirits- but much deeper down we know we are showing off our voice, our skill, our attire, our heels.
Are you making His service your delight or Your service Your delight?

I am grumbling. I came for rehearsal today to play an instrument and for the third time in a row I am not in line to play for Sunday’s ministration yet I am supposed to set up and set down the instruments and to add to that I am supposed to help carry the instruments! I have more talent than these ones who always seem to be playing. I have been playing since I was six!

As soon as I set down the last piece of instrument in the store house, the Holy Spirit gently whispers to me, ‘what are you so angry about’. So many times as instrumentalists, we want to show off our newly acquired skills. We want to be the talk of the town with our numbers on everyone’s speed dial so we are called immediately there is a need to session.
Are you making His want your care or you are making Your want Your care?

Are you feigning humility or are you truly humble?
Philippians 2:3 says
Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.

I love being called to speak God’s word to dying souls because I spit out verses and whole chapters of the Bible and cause most people to stand in awe of such wisdom I possess. I secretly love being called a ‘Mama’ or a ‘Papa’ because I believe I deserve it. I have a Bible verse for every topic you want us to discuss. I carry a new Christian inspirational book around each day, which I never actually open and visit a park each night to speak in such ‘spiritual’ tongues. Today I preached a powerful message at our departmental meeting and saw many people nodding and even clapping intermittently. I get to my room and retire to my bed and the Holy Spirit gently whispers, ‘Did you decrease as I increased today?’
Are you magnifying the Lord or You are magnifying Yourself?

So many times we lose focus on what are gifts and talents are truly for. So many times we allow pride to creep up our hearts ever so slowly and we ignore the very nudge from the Holy Spirit to deal with it. We have renamed pride as CONFIDENCE and carry ourselves as ‘confident’ children of God.

God isn’t pleased by my Pride neither is He enthused with yours.
Always remember this from Proverbs 11:2
When pride comes, then comes shame; But with the Humble is wisdom.

I pray God touches your heart as you have read this. He is coming soon for a spotless bride.
Pride will prevent you from being spotless by giving you a spot.

God bless you.

Posted from WordPress for Android

32 thoughts on “My Proud Humility I call Service!

  1. God bless you for drawing our attention to this. A lot of us don’t even realize that what we’re doing is simply us being proud.
    God bless you Sherrie

    Like

  2. Thank you my sister. I thank God for your life. God bless you this word. “HUMILITY”, God help us understand it well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

